有关荷兰的证明

NVI

NVI是在荷兰和费兰德斯使用的,对公牛进行排位总优点指数,排行最上面的公牛能够生产出最最接近国家的育种目标奶牛女儿。NVI是实现目标的最佳工具之一。

在您农场的育种项目中采用NV将会实现:

  • 提高牛奶产量和生产寿命;
  • 降低淘汰率,减少奶牛替换,从而增加收入;
  • 繁育能力更强,健康奶牛,将会对收入和消费者接受发挥积极的作用。

NVI公式主要是考虑三个不同的组成内容:产量、健康和体型,下面的形状特征为NVI做贡献。

下面表格显示选育NVI后第一代的基因表现(育种值)

特性 获益 价值
乳蛋白 10.5 公斤
乳脂 15.9 公斤
乳糖 14.3 公斤
长寿 214
乳房健康 2.0
乳房 1.0
蹄腿 1.5
产犊间隔 0.8
第一和最后次人工授精间隔时间 1.2
产子容易 1.6
母牛分娩过程 0.9
元气 0.8
母亲元气 1.0
蹄健康 2.0
节约维持饲料成本 14.7 欧元

 

荷兰育种值解

想了解荷兰育种值并没有您预想中那样困难。荷兰育种值和排位可能看上去与您习惯使用的育种值略微有些差别,如果您把荷兰育种值与美国,加拿大和德国做比较,您很容易就掌握了。下图显示四个国家同育种值的范围。譬如说,一头公牛在荷兰的育种值中是108,它相当于美国公牛的+2.00 PTPA或者加拿大育种值Conformation.的+10.

你可以从指标分布中看到,95%的公牛拥有的育种值在92和108之间。这意味着拥有108育种值的公牛排行在最高育种值的2.5%范围内。这个原则应用于所有荷兰式特征,包括线性和复合型,也包括在管理和健康特征,譬如长寿,乳房健康和繁育。

distribution of indexes

distribution of indexes

构造

CRV育种项目不仅仅强调奶牛的体型外貌,也还充分考虑构造上的平衡与机能。奶牛需要很好的运动和食用足够牧草的能力。再者,身体构造上平衡有助于奶牛健康。对于CRV来说,构造就是建立起架构,提升产奶能力,乳房和蹄腿。美式育种也强调强壮。不同的是,乳房、蹄腿成为NVI指标的重要组成部分。使用具有112达到乳房和蹄腿育种值公牛与100育种值的母牛结合,结果可以分别增加2.0和1.2点的分级标准。

 

牛奶生产净利润指数

NVI用Inet指数来描述牛奶生产。这个指标描述的是一头奶牛终生生产的利润。它是按照欧元来估算的,其中公斤牛奶、公斤乳脂和公斤乳蛋白被用来计算。这里的钱是指牛奶、乳脂和乳蛋白带来的利润减去生产这些牛奶的饲料成本。这些生产成本是依据荷兰和佛兰德的生产情况。

 

长寿

长寿意味着更少的次等牛,低生产成本,以及更长是生产寿命。长寿指数的平均是0,表示天。标准偏差是258天。

  • 公牛的长寿育种值>0的话,女儿有长寿,在牛群中活的更久;
  • 公牛的长寿育种值<0的话,女儿的平均寿命短,平均而言奶牛淘汰早。

长寿指数大于0有一点,公牛女儿比平均多活0.5天,如果您选中公牛的长寿指数是500天的话,它的女儿的产奶会比平均多250天。

 

分娩指数

这个指数由所有影响牛犊分娩的所有特征所组成,也受障碍物和牛犊本身的影响。

计算的成本包括由于产犊困难而减少产量,降低发情,早期的问题和兽医成本,特别是,丧失牛犊也属于不可忽计的成本。

  • 产犊容易(父体)
  • 奶牛分娩过程(MCP);
  • 元气(父亲)
  • 母亲元气

采用产犊容易和MCP 104育种值公牛配上育种值100的奶牛,结果是产生0.9%的减少产犊困难。如果育种值低于100,产生相反的效果,更加难以产犊,缩短怀孕时间和减少牛犊体重。

此外,就父母亲活力而言,小母牛同更高年龄的母牛相比存在明显的差别。一头公牛有104育种值,小母牛将会生产3.2%以上活牛犊比例,可是,同一头公牛配以上年纪的母牛只会有0.7%以上的活牛犊比例。一头公牛有104育种值加上有活力的母牛将会有4.8%的更高的活牛犊比例,比老母牛高出0.6%。

About Dutch proofs

NVI

The NVI is the total merit index that is used in the Netherlands and Flanders for ranking bulls with the aim of putting those bulls at the top that are able to produce daughters that come closest to the national breeding goal. NVI is one of the best tools to help with that quest.

Using NVI in your breeding program will lead to:

  • Improvement of production and longevity;
  • Lower culling rates, which means fewer replacements and thus a higher income;
  • More fertile and healthier cows, which will have a positive effect on income and consumer acceptance.

NVI is derived from a formula that takes into consideration three different components: production, health and conformation. Below the underlying traits are given en their contribution to the NVI.

438-16-Plaatje-INET-IBD

In the table below the genetic gain (in breeding values) from selection with NVI after 1 generation is given.

Trait Gain Value
Fat 13 Kg
Protein 8.7 Kg
Lactose 12.4 Kg
Longevity 200 Days
Udder Health 2.3 Pnt
Udder 1.8 Pnt
Feet & Legs 2.2 Pnt
Calving interval 0.8 Pnt
Interval from first to last insemination 1.0 Pnt
Calving ease (paternal) 1.4 Pnt
Maternal calving process 1.1 Pnt
Vitality (paternal) 0.7 Pnt
Maternal vitality 0.9 Pnt

 

Understanding Dutch type proofs

Understanding Dutch type proofs is not as difficult as you might think. The values and ranges of the Dutch proofs maybe look different from what you are used to, but if you compare them to US, Canadian and German proofs they are quite easy to understand. The graph shows the ranges of the proofs in the four different countries. For example, a bull with a breeding value of 108 on the Dutch scale is comparable with a US bull at +2.00 PTAT or a Canadian bull at +10 Conformation.

As you can see from the distribution of the indexes, 95% of the bulls have breeding values between 92 and 108. This means that bulls with a proof over 108 represent the top 2.5% of the breed.

This principle applies to any of the Dutch type traits, both the linears and the composites, and also to the Dutch proofs for management and health traits like udder health, and fertility.

distribution of indexes

distribution of indexes

Conformation

CRV’s breeding program is not looking for extreme type in cows but for balanced and functional conformation. Cows need to have good locomotion and the ability to eat plenty of forage. Moreover, a well-balanced conformation will contribute to a healthy cow. According to CRV conformation is built up in frame, dairy strength, udder and feet & legs. The MRY breed is also scored on muscularity. In addition, udder and feet & legs are incorporated in the NVI. Using a sire with a breeding value of 112 for udder or feet & legs on a cow with a breeding value of 100 leads to an increase of 2.0 and 1.2 points on the classification scale, respectively.

 

INET

NVI takes milk production into account by using the Inet index (Net Profit Index Milk Production). This index describes the net profit from one cow in its lifetime production. It is an estimated calculation in euros, where kg of fat, kg of protein and kg of lactose are taken into account. This amount of money is the total income of kg of fat, kg of protein and kg of lactose minus the feeding costs to produce this milk. These production costs are all based on the Dutch and Flemish situation.

 

Longevity

High longevity means less culling, lower rearing costs and above all higher lifetime yields. The average score for longevity is 0 and is expressed in days. The standard deviation is 270 days.

  • Bulls with a longevity breeding value > 0 have daughters with high longevity, staying longer in the herd
  • Bulls with a longevity breeding value < 0 have daughters with below average longevity. On average cows are culled earlier.

Every point for longevity above 0 increases the average longevity of the bull’s daughters with 0.5 days. So if the bull of your choice has a longevity of 500 days, this means that his daughters will be on average 250 days longer in production.

 

Birth Index

This index is made up of all the traits that influence the birth of the calf and are influenced by the dam and the calf itself.

Costs that are accounted for are reduced production due to difficult calving, reduced fertility, early culling and veterinary costs. In particular, the potential loss of the calf is a significant cost item.

The traits corresponding to the birth index include:

  • Calving ease (paternal)
  • Maternal calving process (MCP)
  • Vitality (paternal)
  • Maternal vitality

Using a bull with a breeding value for calving ease and MCP of 104 on a cow with a breeding value of 100 will result in around 1.8% less difficult births in heifers and the combination of the same bull with the older cows will produce around 0.9% less difficult births. For breeding values under 100, the opposite applies: namely more difficult births, shorter gestation length and lower birth weight.

 

In addition, there is also a clear difference between heifers and higher parities regarding the paternal and maternal vitality. A sire with a breeding value of 104 for paternal (direct) vitality means that heifers will have around 3.2% more live-born calves from a bull and the combination of the same bull with older cows will give around 0.7% more live-born calves from the same bull. A sire with a breeding value of 104 for maternal vitality means that the female offspring of a bull will have 4.8% more live-born calves as heifers and 0.6% more live-born calves as older cows.